Logic Games: Scary “But Not Both” Rules

In early 2007, the Law School Admissions Council (LSAC) introduced a type of rule to Logic Games that had legions of test-takers running home to mommy. It was particularly egregious because of the way in which it was introduced. Students initially thought that it was an easy, 1:1 correspondence game. But then everything went horribly wrong with three little words: but not both.

Whereas most students can readily cope with diagramming “A comes before B”, or “C comes before D”, what do you do when the rule states “A comes before B, or B comes before C, but not both”? (Other than cry and reach for a binkie, that is).

Apparently satisfied with the havoc it wreaked by introducing this rule in 2007, LSAC has resuscitated the same rule (or very similar rules) three times over the last two years. This means it’s becoming a favorite, and the LSAC loves to revert back to its favorites. So, our dearest MSS readers, this means you should learn how to deal with it for your own LSAT. Accordingly, we corralled Colin Elzie into getting in front of the camera. It isn’t pretty, but it might just be very useful come test day (and keep you from curling up in the fetal position).

2 Responses

  1. Irene says:

    Thank you for putting these videos up. They are helpful in fine-tuning this rule.

  2. Colin says:

    Yeah, it’s a strange one, and they’re really becoming infatuated with it. I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see it next Saturday. Definitely worth taking the time to really master it.

Leave a Reply

Your email will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>